jmbrinkman

Mini-Review: Monitoring vSphere with SCVMM and SCOM 2012

In Powershell, SCOM 2012, SCVMM 2012, System Center, Virtualization, Vmware on November 7, 2011 at 23:03

If you like my content please do check out my new blog at thirdpartytools.net ! 

Sometime ago I posted my Vsphere monitoring shoot-out. I recently had the time to install the RC of the SCVMM 2012 and the beta of SCOM 2012. There are plenty of guides out there that describe how to get you started with both products ( SCOM 2012 beta in ten minutes , SCOM 2012 Beta step by step, SCVMM 2012 Survival Guide ) so I won’t get into that to much. Some general remarks:

SCVMM

  • You need the Windows 7 AIK which is only downloadable as an ISO or IMG. That annoyed me.
  • I used SQL 2008 R2 Express as a database – in hindsight it would have been better to use a full SQL trial and host both SCVMM and SCOM’s databases.
  • Besides that the install was quick and painless

SCOM

  • Collation, Collation, Collation! Choose SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS as your SQL collation otherwise SCOM won’t find your SQL instance and it will not tell you you picked the wrong collation.
  • You need .NET 4
  • I had some issues installing the SCOM agent on the SCVMM server. I got this error:

Log Name:      Application

Source:        MsiInstaller

Date:          4-11-2011 17:53:33

Event ID:      1013

Task Category: None

Level:         Error

Keywords:      Classic

User:          ****\****

Computer:      FQ.DN

Description:

Product: System Center Operations Manager 2012 Agent — Microsoft ESENT Keys are required to install this application.  Please see the release notes for more information.

Apparantly this is not a SCOM 2012 specific error but more a general SCOM error on Windows 2008 R2 boxes. Running msiexec from an elevated command prompt solved the problem.

Adding vSphere to SCVMM

This part is pretty straightforward as well. Open the Virtual Machine Manager Console, Fabric pane and choose Add ResourceVmware vCenter Server. Create a Run As account which has enough the required privileges (local admin on the vCenter server according to Technet). After you’ve added the vCenter server you need to each Resource Cluster (or individual host) as well in much the same way as you added the vCenter server. But since you’re already connected to vCenter you don’t have to enter RC or host names – you can just select them in a browsing dialog.

Strangely enough I wasn’t able to retrieve and accept the certificate for any of my hosts using a domain account – which does have root equivalent privileges on the hosts – but either the AD integration is flawed or I made a mistake configuring it. But I used a second Run As account using the default vSphere root account and I was able to retrieve and accept the certificates.

After that I was able to view all my hosts and vm’s in SCVMM. Same goes for templates and host networking. SCVMM even sees my dvSwitches and sees them as one entity – but same goes for my vSwitches…which is not really what I would like to see. Portgroups aren’t shown in the networking pane – but I was able to find them in the vm guest properties. I did a quick test to see if I could actually manage stuff – and I could but for now I’m more interested in monitoring vSphere I’ll get down to managing vSphere some other time.

Connecting SCVMM to SCOM

I followed this great post on the SCVMM blog to connect SCVMM to SCOM. Most notable improvement over the previous versions: no need to install the VMM console on the SCOM server. However you still need to install the SCOMsole on the VMM Server. Oh and creating the connection is now a simple wizard in the VMM console :). I had some issues with not being able to search the online SCOM catalog I needed to download the prequisite MP’s by hand.

Once I got that sorted out I completed the wizard and the connection was made.

And? Has it gotten any better?

Yes. Because vSphere and vCenter are represented just as vSphere and vCenter in both SCVMM and SCOM instead of weird vm’s on a mutated Hyper-V server the visibility and navigation is much better. But my SCOMsole immediatly got filled up with alerts telling me my vm’s didn’t have VSG installed – and because everything is discovered through your VMM server (which is does still seem to see as a Hyper-V server) it started complaining about the fact that I had more then 384 vm’s on a host.

Alerts are also a lot quicker. Views are a bit poor – especially when you consider that the way my vSphere datacenter hierarchy is displayed in SCVMM is pretty good. The fact that SCOM and SCVMM will allow me to view a diagram of a service as defined in SCVMM look really promising but I haven’t tested that yet. If you put a host into maintenance mode in SCVMM its status is automatically propagated to SCOM. There is still no link between the vm as an instance running on vSphere and the Windows computer object in SCOM – that’s a real shame.

There isn’t a lot of Vmware specific stuff there as well. I guess that remains as MS likes to call it a partner opportunity – or something you could develop yourself using vCenter and System Center’s common denominator Powershell. But I believe even that might be less of a challenge then before because of the improved SNMP support in SCOM 2012 (so you can just that in addition to the information exposed by vCenter). Still the biggest improvement seems to be on the managing side rather then on the monitoring side – which makes taking the monitoring shortcomings for granted much more plausible then before.

  1. […] I’ve done a mini-review on SCVMM/SCOM 2012 and vSphere […]

Leave a Reply

